Transport and Environment Committee

10:00am Tuesday 18 March 2014

Appointments to Working Groups Etc 2013/14

Item number 7.1

Report number

Wards None

Links

Coalition pledges

Council outcomes -

Single Outcome Agreement -

Alastair D Maclean

Director of Corporate Governance

Contact: Lesley Birrell, Committee Officer

Email: lesley.birrell@edinburgh.gov.uk | Tel: 0131 529 4240



Executive summary

Appointments to Working Groups Etc 2013/14

Summary

On 4 June 2013, the Transport and Environment Committee appointed members to its various Working Groups, etc. Councillor Orr has now resigned from the Committee and a number of its Working Groups.

The Council, on 13 March 2014, will be invited to appoint a replacement SNP member as a Committee member and also the Committee's Vice-Convener. One vacancy exists on each of the following:

Forums

Cycle Forum
Transport Forum

Working Groups

Carbon Climate and Sustainability Working Group
Duddingston Village Traffic Working Group
Leith Programme Oversight Working Group
Tram All Party Oversight Group
Zero Waste Cross Party Cross Council Working Group

Replacement members should be members of the SNP Group. In accordance with the Committee's June 2013 decision, the member of the Cycle Forum, the Carbon, Climate and Sustainability Working Group, Leith Programme Oversight Working Group and the Tram All Party Oversight Group should be the Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee.

Recommendations

The Committee is requested:

- 1) to appoint members to the following Working Groups, etc:
 - Transport Forum
 - Duddingston Village Traffic Working Group
 - Zero Waste Cross Party Cross Council Working Group
- 2) to appoint the Vice-Convener of the Committee to the Cycle Forum, Carbon, Climate and Sustainability Working Group, Leith Programme Oversight Working Group and Tram All Party Oversight Working Group.

3) to note that the Committee Terms of Reference and Delegated Functions specifies that the membership of the Committee's Policy Development and Review Sub-Committee will be the same as the parent Committee and that the Vice-Convener of the parent Committee will be the Convener of the Sub-Committee.

Measures of success

Not applicable.

Financial impact

Not applicable.

Equalities impact

Not applicable.

Sustainability impact

Not applicable.

Consultation and engagement

Not applicable.

Background reading / external references

Committee Terms of Reference and Delegated Functions

Working Groups Etc

Cycle Forum

1 Member (Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee) Vacancy

Transport Forum

5 Members (1 Labour, 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 SLD)

Councillor Hinds

Vacancy

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Aldridge

Carbon, Climate and Sustainability Working Group

5 Members (Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee)

Duddingston Village Traffic Working Group

5 Members (1 Labour, 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 SLD and local ward members for the Craigentinny/Duddingston Ward)

Councillor Hinds

Vacancy

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Aldridge

Councillor Griffiths (local Ward Member)

Councillor Lunn (local Ward Member)

Councillor Tymkewycz (local Ward Member)

Leith Programme Oversight Group

12 Members (Convener and Vice-Convener of Transport and Environment Committee and local ward members for the City Centre, Leith and Leith Walk wards)

Councillor Hinds

Vacancy

Councillor Blacklock

Councillor Booth

Councillor Brock

Councillor Chapman

Councillor Doran

Councillor Gardner

Councillor McVey

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Munro

Councillor Rankin

Tram All Party Oversight Group

(10 members (Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council, Opposition Group Leaders, Convener and Vice-Convener of Transport and Environment Committee, Opposition Spokespersons of Transport and Environment Committee)

Councillor Burns

Councillor Cardownie

Councillor Hinds

Vacancy

Councillor Aldridge

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Burgess

Councillor Edie

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Rose

Zero Waste Cross Party Cross Council Group

5 Members (1 Labour, 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 SLD)

Councillor Hinds

Vacancy

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Booth

Councillor Aldridge